Stop it with the Butter Pecan Ice Cream

The generation before mine has some strange obsession with Butter Pecan Ice Cream. I don’t get it. You want butter roasted nut vanilla ice cream? Let’s take this in pieces.

First up is butter. I imagine a stick of butter being shoved into the ice cream making process. Yuck. Have you ever just eaten butter? Butter is an ingredient, but rarely a part of the headliner.

Pecans are good fresh off the tree. I remember picking them up off the ground, holding two in my hand, smashing them together, then enjoying the pecan on the inside. People in the Southeast will buy them by the bag. Pecans make an excellent topping for brownies, sweet potato casserole or pie, or even as a pie itself if that’s your kind of groove.

Some Baby Boomer is reading this like “oh no he didn’t.” Yes, I did. I’m calling you out. Can your taste buds taste any other ice cream? Baskin Robbins has 31 flavors. Try one of the other 30.

