Coming to Terms with Oneself

Coming to terms with oneself is not easy. You have to be willing to admit your flaws as well as your strengths. We often don’t want to tackle those two things head on mostly avoiding the flaw side of things. Maybe you call your flaws weaknesses instead. They are both the same for this conversation.

I’ve had to come to terms with myself once again over the course of the last quarter of this year. I am experiencing a lot of growth due to pruning. It ain’t always been fun. My marriage, family, work, and social life have been impacted.

The biggest change is the slow down of doing things away from home. You know. Always being on the go. I can’t do it anymore. It’s draining the very life out of me leaving me always to tired to handle the things at home that need to be done. When I’m tired I also get very cranky. It’s a fact of life. I’d rather be left alone and not have to make complicated decisions. My fuse to my temper dropped to a three second delay instead of the the sixty second delay it had grown to. Not that sixty seconds is all that long, but you get the jest of the analogy.

I’m confusing you by now or at least making you question what the heck is going on, or has been going on with Robert. I’m not going to bare my soul here to the whole wide world. I need only do that with my wife, and then it’s not easy. We, and I have been going through a storm. It’s been a rough one, but not one we can’t make it through.

There were a lot of grey days and a couple of black ones, but with counselling, prayer, and changes going on in the heart we and I are getting better. I love life.

