Planning for the HTC One X+


I have settled on the phone that will be replacing my Motorola Atrix. I’ve changed my mind about a few things in making my decision on my next phone.

I wanted to stay in the 4.5 inch screen range, but the best of the best are 4.7 inches and above. So scratch that. I have done some chassis comparison and the fact is that as long as the chassis is not much larger than what I currently have, that the screen can be larger and that is fine by me. The fact is, as the bezels get slimmer and the screens are allowed to take up more space on the chassis, you can get a larger screen on a similar sized chassis.

I wanted the phone to have the ability to use micro SD card storage, but the LG Nexus 4 can not nor can the HTC One X+. So why would I still choose the HTC? It has 64GB of built-in storage is why. For once I can do some thing I have been waiting a long time to do; syn my entire music collection with my on device storage. Yes, If I had gone Apple I could have had the syncing going on ages ago, but I don’t do Apple. I don’t like Apple. It’s my opinion and I’m sticking to it. There is no changing me, converting me, or swaying me to go Apple.

I was really wanting to also roll with a Nexus phone, but the LG Nexus 4 comes up short on the storage side for me. 16GB of on-board storage is not enough these days. 32GB would have been acceptable, but not 16GB. My Atrix has 32GB of storage total. That’s 16GB of internal storage and a 16GB micro SD card. The size of games and other files, such as 1080p recorded video makes it a necessity to have adequate storage on your device. People tout online storage, and I have nothing against using online storage, but I do not want to also get into a perpetual habit of feeding the pay for more data monster that our mobile phone carriers are becoming.

I’m not a fan of Sense which is the UI wrapper that HTC puts around Android. I’ll run with a version of Holo Launcher over the top so I never have to really see or feel Sense. It’s a minor adjustment that will make rooting and a custom ROM not needed for me.

The one department that the HTC One X+ will lack in seems to be RAM. It will only come with 1GB where as the LG Nexus 4, and Samsung Galaxy S3 have 2GB of RAM on-board. The additional GB of RAM can make for a more stable OS, as there is less application swapping that needs to be done when Android needs to unload an application to make room for another in RAM. I can live with the RAM limitation for now as it’s the same for most Android users.

I’ll post more about the tech specs of the HTC One X+ in a follow-up post to this one.

