Not Going Back to webOS Unless…

I have lived with Android for over a month now and I can officially say that I’m not going back to webOS. The only way I go back to webOS is if Android falls apart. Honestly, the more robust app catalog, and the way better offerings of hardware will keep me on Android.

With the addition of Netflix streaming my phone (Motorola Atrix) just regulated my laptop to always staying at home during trips. That’s a saving of 5 pound s of weight that I no longer have to carry. No webOS phone has done that yet or seems to be headed in that direction. I understand that the Touchpad is available for purchase, but why would I buy that when a phone can do the same things. As far as a larger screen opinion goes; it’s relative. Think about when you’re watching something on a screen. At some point, if the picture quality and the content you’re watching is good enough screen size becomes minor to a degree. The Atrix has a HDMI output to push Netflix to a larger screen. That’s a big win.

I’m now more keen about keeping my household all on the same operating system because troubleshooting and updating is that much easier. I know if i get an OS update that there is one waiting for my wife too. A perfect example is the Gingerbread update that became official last night for the Atrix. As soon as I started my download, I grabbed her phone and started the download on it as well.

The Android Market is way easier to dive into online and then push an app to my phone than the webOS catalog. The Android Market is integrated with my Google sign in and it remembers which model phone I have and identification info. I can log in on any computer and push an application to my phone. I don’t have to enter my phone number. What about sharing the same app with my wife? There is a sharing app that allows me to blast a link via email, SMS, Twitter, or blog. I’ll share the name of it in a future blog post here.

Google is ahead of HP in building an integrated ecosystem. What I also like about Google’s way of doing it is that I’m not hardware limited. Everything is portable. As far as HP has said, If I want the webOS integration I will have to buy a newer model HP computer when they are ready. No thanks. I prefer to build my own desktop, and due to that fact, it looks like I’ll be locked out of a strong part of the webOS integration (I do have a preference for HP laptops, but as I stated before the need is zilch with the Atrix at hand).

I think HP has missed a prime launch period for the Pre 3. It’s been quiet on the mobile front since Apple did not launch the iPhone 5 or 4s or whatever it is to be called. It was a time to have the stage all alone. Yet there is no Pre 3 being sold to speak of. When the Veer came out on May 15th, it was overshadowed by the launch of the Infuse on the same day. Will the same mistake be made with the Pre 3? Will it launch to close to the next iPhone so that it gets little attention? Will it launch to close to the next big Android phone getting pushed aside as everyone runs to the Photon and S2? I don’t know, but if the Pre 3 does launch around the release of those phones it will get crushed. Yes, I know the Pre 3 is being updated with a dual core processor, but I don’t think it will be enough to win people over. The Pre 3 was announced in February. It’s July. The media praise for it has all but dried up. Is it considered vaporware? Not yet, but it’s edging close to it.

In closing; unless Apple and Microsoft manage to halt the Android assimilation that is happening, I don’t see my household going back to webOS.

